Arizona Contemporary Music Ensemble

The Arizona Contemporary Music Ensemble is dedicated to the performance and promotion of music from the 20th and 21st centuries.  ACME was founded by Dr. Glenn Hackbarth in 1978 and it is now under the artistic direction of Simone Mancuso. Since its inception, the group has performed over 900 works, including many world and Arizona premieres.

ACME offers students the opportunity to perform at the highest professional level, playing the most significant music of our time, from masterworks of the 20th century, to the most recent works of this century, including compositions by ASU faculty and student composers.

ACME recently toured in Switzerland, performing at the prestigious Zurich University, Lugano Conservatory of Music, and at the Boswil Contemporary Music Center. During the tour, the group premiered 3 new works written for the ensemble, and collaborated with Swiss, American, and German composers.

Since 2009, ACME is the official ensemble in residence of the PRISMS Contemporary Music Festival at Arizona State University.




Voice: Sarah Welden


Flute: Anne-Marie Shaver, Miao Liu, Yian Shen


Clarinet: Michael Robinson


Horn: Adam Heyen


Trumpet: Sarah Core, Megan Dejarnett


Trombone: John Pisaro


Violin: Mo Farag


Viola: Kimberly Hankins


Cello: Jacob Barker


Harp: Kylie Chung, Juliana Scholle


Accordeon: Deanna Rusnock


Piano:  Gavin Laur, Jeremiah Sweeney, Sarah Core


Piano/Celesta: Rosa LoGiudice


Percussion: Lindsay De Leon, Jingya Zhou, Travis Rowland, Kemi Chen